About

The Northeast Florida Regional Transportation Commission (RTC) advocates and seeks funding for unmet regional transportation needs.

We work with partner agencies to identify projects that will fill in gaps or complete parts of our transportation network, sooner rather than later.

The RTC was established June 14, 2013 under the 2013 Northeast Florida Regional Transportation Commission Act - Florida Statutes 343 Part I and charged with accomplishing the following tasks:

  • Develop a multimodal and prioritized regional transportation plan consisting of transportation projects of regional significance;
  • Develop an implementation plan that identifies available but not yet imposed and potentially developable sources of funding to execute the regional transportation plan;
  • Secure adequate funding sources to carry out at least the initial phases of such plans;
  • Conduct a public hearing in each affected county before adopting the regional transportation or implementation plan;
  • Adopt the regional transportation and implementation plan; and
  • Obtain resolutions endorsing the regional transportation and implementation plan from at least Clay, Duval, Nassau and St. Johns counties. Resolutions from Baker and Putnam counties are highly desirable but not required by statute.

Our enabling statute and the Commission sunset effective November 30, 2018 unless all of these tasks have been accomplished.

Please see our Funding page for financial information.  Meeting information and meeting summaries for the past year are on our Meetings page.

Board

Doug Conkey
Appointed by: Clay County Commission
RTC Chairman

dconkey@claychamber.com
1734 Kingsley Avenue
Orange Park, FL 32073

James Bennett
Appointed by: Baker County Commission
RTC Vice Chairman

james.bennett@bakercountyfl.org
55 North 3rd Street
Macclenny, FL 32063

James Johns
Appointed by: St Johns County Commission

bcc1jjohns@sjcfl.us
500 San Sebastian View
St Augustine, FL 32084

Chip Liabl
Appointed by: Putnam County Commission
RTC Treasurer

chip.liabl@putnam-fl.com
P.O. Box 758
Palatka, FL

Bill Bishop
Appointed by: Jacksonville City Council

wbishop@alsarchitects.com
704 Rosselle Street
Jacksonville, FL 32204

Lindsey Brock
Appointed by: City of Jacksonville Mayor’s Office
RTC Secretary

brock@rumrellaw.com
9995 Gate Parkway North
Suite 4000
Jacksonville, FL 32246

Ennis Davis
Appointed by: City of Jacksonville Mayor’s Office

edavis@metrojacksonville.com
221 North Hogan Street
Suite 285
Jacksonville, FL 32202

Danny Leeper
Appointed by: Nassau County Commission

dleeper@nassaucountyfl.com
2645 Pirates Bay Drive
Fernandina Beach, FL 32034

Bill Gulliford
Appointed by: Jacksonville City Council

Gulliford@coj.net
117 West Duval Street, Suite 425
Jacksonville, FL 32202

Jim Knight
Appointed by: FDOT: non-voting advisor

james.knight@dot.state.fl.us
2198 Edison Avenue, MS 2806
Jacksonville, FL 32204

© 2016 Northeast Florida Regional Transportation Commission